How Canada Post Failed Me

Canada Post - a national service - can't even hold themselves responsible.

Canada Post – a national service – can’t even hold themselves responsible.

I want to tell you a story. It’s one where a soon-to-be groom finds out just how much power a national agency has. No, I’m not talking about government or any controlling party in Canada. I’m talking about Canada Post – a national delivery system trusted to provide a country with mail and services.

On December 30, 2015, I placed an order on the site Etsy – a site providing creative and artsy gift ideas for those looking. My goal – to find a good little something for my groomsmen. My wedding is scheduled for February 6, so I knew I had the time for delivery.

I won’t say exactly what I ordered here (in case any my groomsmen decide to read this post). But I ordered seven sets and it came to $74.00 USD (or just over $105 CAD). The expected delivery was somewhere between January 10 and 15.

I tracked the package as I normally do – chalk that up to my minor case of OCD – and on January 13, Canada Post said that my package had been received in London, Ontario and was out for delivery. At 10:07 am EST the package read: ‘Delivered to community mailbox or parcel locker.’

As shown on the Canada Post website.

As shown on the Canada Post website.

Again, thanks to my minor OCD, I checked our mail compartment daily. The only two people who have keys aside from Canada Post were myself and my fiancee. Nothing was there. I waited a day before I took further steps and that’s where my frustration begins.

I called the 1-800 number for customer service. They opened a service ticket for me saying it would be resolved by January 18th. I called the local depot in London. They said they’d have a delivery worker check the parcel boxes in the community boxes. Nothing came from either of those. I called back on the Tuesday (January 19) and the service ticket had been closed – stating that they had come to a resolution. And yet, there I sat without my parcel in hand.

I reopened the service ticket with the customer service representative that day and still nothing came of it. I sat at the community mailbox (now January 20) and waited for the postal worker. He told me that he checked every box and that he was off on the 13th when it was supposed to be delivered. Convenient, right? The depot here in London, ended up saying that there was no deliveries on Monday January 13 – so why was my package scanned as delivered (see the picture posted above)?

I finally called the customer service line one more time and they put me through to resolution. Here’s what they told me…

“The seller will have to contact us. We’ll reimburse the seller and the seller is responsible for refunding your money.”

The seller in this did nothing wrong. So why are they held responsible? Why am I being victimized by a nationally run service? Why am I – a young man having to pay for his upcoming wedding – responsible for paying $105 CAD for a package that was lost by Canada Post?

 

PLEASE SEND YOUR THOUGHTS OR YOUR OWN PERSONAL EXPERIENCES TO ME IN THE COMMENT SECTION BELOW OR AFORBE6@GMAIL.COM. SHARE THIS STORY SO OTHERS WHO’VE HAD SIMILAR PROBLEMS CAN SPEAK UP AND BE FEATURED. IF YOU KNOW SOMEONE WITH CANADA POST – PLEASE HAVE THEM HELP OUT! THIS SHOULD NOT BE HAPPENING.

**UPDATE**
A big thank you to two people (Anick and Jenny) associate with Canada Post who helped me try and track down my package. While we were unable to find out what happened after it reached the London Distribution Centre (still fishy) they took me down the right path to get compensated for the lost product. Thank you again for helping.

3 Responses to How Canada Post Failed Me

  1. Archon's Den says:

    I sent a no-cash-value, 2-ounce package from Kitchener to Washington, DC. Instead of $2.20 for an envelope, I was charged $8 for postage, because the bubble envelope wouldn’t quite fit through an arbitrary slot in a piece of Plexiglas. Then they wanted me to pay $16.50 for tracing. I declined. It’s been two weeks, and I haven’t received confirmation of receipt from my friend. The deadline is Feb. 1, his birthday. 😦

Leave a Reply

